Welcome to Homeschool Boy Mom

Hello everyone. Welcome to Homeschool Boy Mom. My name is Brittny and I manage this site. To learn more about my story, please continue reading.

A little bit of background about myself: I grew up around 30 minutes to the southwest of Pittsburgh, PA. I have always taken a great interest in working with children, and my first experience in childcare was babysitting.

High School - College

During high school, I enrolled in an early childhood class, where I discovered my true passion for teaching.

After graduating, I decided to attend Carlow University in Pittsburgh to pursue my teaching degree. I chose the school since they offered a program where I could graduate with a degree in early childhood, elementary, and special education. I graduated from the university Magna Cum Laude in 2004.

After College

After graduating, I used my early childhood degree to teach at a local daycare until I gained a position as an elementary teacher in Virginia. I moved to Norfolk, VA to take on the responsibilities of a 2nd-grade teacher. Afterward, I worked as a 3rd-grade teacher.

While there, I got engaged to my now husband (Dave), who is a former Navy Submariner. He got posted to San Diego, CA, so we started our married life there in 2007.

San Diego

During our stay in California, I taught children of different ages at various daycare facilities. Our first son (D.J.) was born in 2009, changing my life forever. Our second son, Cameron, was born in 2011. A few months later, my husband decided to leave the military, and we relocated to Pittsburgh, PA.


I juggled between different jobs, trying to earn a living. But eventually, we realized that it was more cost-effective for me to stay at home and care for the kids rather than working to pay for daycare.

My husband found a career in the oil and gas industry as a pipeline inspector, a job that entailed frequent relocation that we discovered later. We moved to a few places, including New York, where D.J. started kindergarten. Due to the frequent relocations, we started thinking and praying about whether homeschooling would be the best option for our growing family.

After talking about the many pros and cons, we decided that homeschooling would enable us to provide our children with the best possible education.

Check out This Post to read more about why I chose to homeschool.


Today, my husband, a senior integrity and corrosion specialist, works for Atmos Energy in Dallas, TX. While I write this, we are starting our seventh year of homeschooling.

I plan to use this blog to share our daily routines, tips, tricks, homeschooling programs and products, and other bits of the Homeschool Boy Mom life. If you ever have anything you'd like me to write about, please don't hesitate to leave a comment or email me at:

Also, I'd love for you to join my e-mail list by entering your info below to be notified of updates delivered right to your inbox. I try to email at least once a week but, if all else fails, you'll get my monthly newsletter.

Thanks for taking the time to read about me. I look forward to sharing our journey with you!

Leave a Reply